We've moved! To view our most current content, click here.
All Hockey - Boys Stories

Hockey - Boys

Roosevelt grad Mayhew scores OT game-winner for Ferris State in WCHA semifinal PHOTOS

  • 2010-11 Roosevelt team captain Gerald Mayhew and Coach Mike Quint (middle) accepted the trophy after the Bears' victory in the Division 2 state final game against Brother Rice. Mayhew scored 48 goals that season and was later named Mr. Hockey. Photo by Larry Caruso
  • Gerald Mayhew and the 2010-11 Roosevelt Bears celebrated the Division 2 state title after a 4-1 victory against Brother Rice. Photo by Larry Caruso

Game Info

Related Articles

>> View more news

After leading the Roosevelt hockey team to a state title three years ago, Gerald Mayhew is now doing big things on the ice at Ferris State University.

On Friday night, the Bulldogs’ freshman forward netted the game-winner in overtime against University of Alaska-Anchorage in what was the semifinal game of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association Final Five Championship at Grand Rapids’ Van Andel Arena.

He also scored the first goal of the 5-4 victory, which advanced Ferris to the final on Saturday night against Minnesota State, where the winner will earn the Broadmoor Trophy and an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament.

This season, the Bulldogs captured the WCHA regular-season title and are currently ranked No. 4 in the nation. In 33 games for Ferris, Mayhew has six goals and 12 assists.

As a senior at Roosevelt, Mayhew was named Michigan’s 2010-11 Mr. Hockey after scoring 48 goals and recording more than 100 total points.

That season, he helped guide the Bears to a 26-4 record and a 4-1 win in the Division 2 state final game against Brother Rice.

After high school, Mayhew went on to play Tier 1 junior hockey with the Cedar Rapids RoughRiders of the United States Hockey League.

In his two years with the RoughRiders he scored a combined 36 goals and had 41 assists.

Saturday night’s WCHA final between Ferris and Minnesota State starts at 7:07 p.m. at Van Andel Arena in Grand Rapids. The winner automatically moves on to play Friday night in the first round of the NCAA Tournament.

Last Updated: 3/22/2014 9:17:12 PM EST