We've moved! To view our most current content, click here.
All Wrestling Stories

Anderson's Donte Rivera-Garcia (top) took on and beat Lincoln Park's Tyler Castillo at Wednesday's districts. Rivera-Garcia finished the day 2-0, wrestling at both 112 and 119 pounds. Photo by Dave Chapman


DISTRICT WRESTLING: Anderson captures yet another title (PHOTOS/TOUT VIDEO)

Roosevelt's Lucis King (right) and Edsel Ford's Ahmad AbouGhaida battled at 119 pounds during Wednesday's districts in Lincoln Park. Photo by Dave Chapman

The Anderson Titans captured their seventh consecutive district title Wednesday in Lincoln Park. Photo by Frank Wladyslawski

Game Info

Related Articles

>> View more news

While last week Anderson just missed its fourth consecutive Downriver League championship, what has now continued this season is the Titans’ impressive district title streak.

In the Division 1, District 120 showdown Wednesday at Lincoln Park, the powerhouse Anderson squad picked up its seventh district crown in as many years.

Anderson beat the host Railsplitters 48-26 and took down Edsel Ford 58-15 in the finals. The Thunderbirds had knocked off Roosevelt 41-26 to advance to the finals.

“We knew we were the favorites coming in, but we knew we still had to go in there and finish and wrestle hard,” said Titans Coach Jerry Frazier. Everyone wrestled good tonight. I was very proud of the way we’re coming along.”

For the regional championship next Wednesday, the host Titans will see another Dearborn squad, as Fordson captured the title in District 118.

Anderson had nine winners Wednesday against Lincoln Park and 11 in the title matchup with Edsel.

Titans earning two victories on the day were: Dylan Hoagland (103), Donte Rivera-Garcia (112/119), Logan Parks (140), Jacob Balogh (145), Cody Stanley (152), Chris Pauly (189), Cody Tis (215) and Cody Kwasniewski.

The Rails got wins from Daymond Wallace (125), Trever Anderson (130), Horatio Orozco (135), Zander Moore (160) and Sonny Botello (171).

In the title match, Edsel’s winners were Saleh Salim (112), Suhail Almadhagi (125) and Zaid Awad (130).

T-Birds earning a victory against Roosevelt were: Salim, Almadhagi, Cam Wyka (103), Justin Crites (145), Nathan Allen (152), Collin Nycz (189), James Bumstead (215) and Julian Martell 285.

Getting wins for the Bears on Wednesday were: Lucis King (119), Sean Chrislip (130), Ian Williamson (135), Collin Vargo (140), Quentin Santiago (160) and Andrew Harrison (171).

Next up for all four squads are individual districts, which will be held at Beverly Hills Groves on Saturday.

Next Wednesday, Anderson will host Fordson for the regional title.

Last Updated: 2/6/2014 1:00:39 AM EST