We've moved! To view our most current content, click here.
All Wrestling Stories


WRESTLING: Huron takes fourth at Sheriff's Invite (TOUT VIDEO)

Game Info

Related Articles

>> View more news

Huron finished a disappointing fourth place Saturday at the Monroe County Sheriff's Tournament.

The 12-team field also boasted champion Dundee (271.5 points), and runner-up Bedford (205), both of which are state ranked in their divisions. Monroe (188) took third ahead of Huron (156.5). Carlson (119) was seventh and Flat Rock (51) was 10th.

“Obviously that's not where we want to be,” Huron Coach Jake Shulaw said. “We'd like to be at least third in this field.”

Leading the Chiefs to their fourth-place finish were Logan Ritchie (160 pounds) and Jon Wellman (125) as flight champions. Deion Copley (215), Jeff Henderson (285) and Judah Caballero (119) were all runners-up.

Also placing for the Chiefs were Nick Phelps (130) in fourth, Jason Shulaw (145) fifth and Riley Griffin (171) sixth.

Coach Shulaw said that there were a couple of wrestlers out of the line-up, which caused the Chiefs to only suit up with 12 wrestlers to start with, then suffered a first-round injury to another, which put the team in an early hole.

“We were short-handed,” he said. “But that's not an excuse. We're not where we need to be yet.”

Carlson was lead by champion Zack Underwood (215) who bested Copley in overtime to win the Marauders’ only title.

Max Underwood (152) took third, Andy Mydloski (171) and Doug Bunea (189) each took fourth.

Fifth-place finishers for the Marauders were Jerry Lakos (103) and Mason Brott (125), while Breant Neasz (119), Travis DeRossett (130) and Alex Franco (140) each placed sixth.

Flat Rock had a rough day with only four wrestlers placing, the highest was Brandon Fisher (135) with a fourth place.

Jeff Jones (285) was fifth, Joey Talerico (112) and Jason Johnson (125) each took sixth.

“We're really young,” Flat Rock coach Larry Dishaw said. “We're getting there. Better every day.”

Last Updated: 1/5/2014 1:48:13 AM EST