All Wrestling Stories


Wyandotte Roosevelt gets by Southgate Anderson, Edsel Ford for 1st district title since 2006 PHOTO GALLERY

Can not load XML: XML document must have a top level element. No results

For the first time in a decade the Southgate Anderson wrestling team won’t be headed to regionals. The Wyandotte Bears knocked off the Titans 35-27 in an exciting semifinal victory in Thursday’s Division 1, District 120 team championship at Edsel Ford.

The Bears then won the district title by knocking off Edsel Ford 41-30 in a back-and-forth fight to the finish in the championship match. Roosevelt advanced to team regionals on Wednesday at Westland John Glenn against the winner of the Bedford District.

The team district title was the first for the Bears since 2006.

“We lost to Southgate earlier in the year 44-14 but lost a lot of close matches,” said Wyandotte Coach Brett Green. “We got a few guys healthy since then, made a few lineup changes and ended up winning all the close ones. The kids did a great job. That was huge.”

Anderson won the DRL Meet on Saturday and was a league co-champ this year, together with Woodhaven.

Roosevelt had only seen the Thunderbirds in tournaments, never in a head-to-head dual meet.

“It was tough to gauge how we would do and it was a barnburner,” Green said. “We figured it would be close but the kids fought hard and they were clearly ready to wrestle.”

It was a big win for a young program which finished in fifth place in the Downriver League.

“We are peaking at the right time and headed in the right direction,” Green said. “We have a lot of young guys who have improved during the season. We have a couple of seniors who are doing a great job leading the team.”

Edsel advanced to the finals with a 76-6 win over Lincoln Park in the semifinals.

In the finals, Roosevelt’s Hiram Robinson kicked things off with a 20-8 Major Decision over the T-Birds’ Darius Wilson.

Brad Scott (189) of the Bears then pinned Shahab Abdullah, but Edsel’s Rutha Muaalla (215) followed with a pin of Quin Regan to make it 10-6.

Roosevelt heavyweight Beckem Caldwell edged Rafael Espinal 3-2 to add to the lead, but the hosts overtook the Bears 18-13 thanks to back-to-back pins, as Abdullah Nassr (103) beat Jake Campbell and Ty Wyka (112) beat Angel Valentin.

Roosevelt followed with a pair of pins, as Nick McPhall (119) defeated Khaled Abdulrahim and Nick Biundo (125) beat Nicola Murabito to give the squad a 25-18 advantage.

The T-Birds’ Ragih Murshed (130) beat Dylan Neal 9-6, but the Wyandotte group got 10 points back when Zachary Schaffner (135) beat Ali Hassoun in a 10-0 Major Decision and Martin Bustos (140) pinned Elysa Musa to give the Bears a 35-21 advantage.

In overtime, Edsel’s Cam Wyka (145) defeated Colton Thompson 6-4 and the T-Birds trailed 35-24 with two matches left.

It was then that Matthew Lesko (152) of Roosevelt was able to pin Alfonso Angeles and ultimately secured the win and the trophy for his team.

The Bears voided at 160 pounds and came away with the 41-30 victory.

In the first round, against Anderson, Jake Campbell (103) defeated Johanna Palshan 6-3, Thompson (140) pinned Ricky Strong, Lesko (145) pinned Nathan Hawkins, Jason Bury (152) beat Logan Southworth 7-3, Jesus Placencia (160) beat Mauricio Orozco in an 18-3 Technical Fall, Robinson (171) edged Marc Rodriguez 3-2, Scott (215) pinned Christopher Fidruj and Quin Regan knocked off Alejandro Salce 4-1.

For the Titans, Alec Balogh (112) pinned the Bears’ Valentin, Ryan Cacicedo (119) beat McPhall 5-2, Logan Palshan pinned Biundo, Donte Rivera-Garcia (130) pinned Neal, Bradley Janes defeated Schaffner 10-7 and Kyle Bray (189) edged Christian Munoz 6-5.

Lincoln Park's lone victory on Thursday was a pin by Chris Cosgrove (135).

Last Updated: 2/10/2017 12:49:04 AM EST

Promotions & Specials

See All