Mt. Pleasant's Page All Softball Stories


Oilers seal the deal, claim first SVL regular-season title since 2010

Can not load XML: XML document must have a top level element. No results

FLINT Mt. Pleasant's softball team won a share of its first regular-season league title since 2010 on Thursday afternoon as the Oilers swept two Saginaw Valley League games from host Flint Powers by scores of 15-5 and 10-3.

With the wins the Oilers run their SVL winning streak to 21 games and finish the league slate at 21-1. Technically, Mt. Pleasant went 19-1 in league play but with a pair of forfeit wins over Saginaw its final conference marker comes in at 21-1.

The Oilers share the SVL regular-season title with Midland (28-5, 21-1) which also finished with one league loss.

"It's been a good year," said veteran Mt. Pleasant coach Ted McIntyre, whose team also improved to 31-2 overall with its only two losses coming to top-ranked teams in the state. "It's nice to win it because three times in the last six years we split with the eventual conference champion and then lost one more game and finished second in the league. We avoided that bump in the road this year."

The Oilers, who have also won 15-straight games, raced out to an 11-0 lead in the third inning of the opener and cruised to the victory. Hannah Carson homered, doubled and drove in three runs to pace the offense. Maggie Zurawski chipped in three hits and four RBIs while Lindsay Watters had three hits also.

Oaklie Mogg went the first three innings and didn't allow a hit while striking out two before Brianna Lybeer came in an slammed the door, going the final four frames.

Mogg went the distance in the nightcap, allowing three runs on eight hits while striking out 10 and walking one. She also helped her own cause with a two hits, including a double. Ellyn Ecker and Lybeer both had two hits as did Carson.

The Oilers return to action at the Frankenmuth Invite Saturday.

From there they play a showcase doubleheader against unbeaten Saginaw Swan Valley (34-0) at CMU's Margo Jonker Stadium on Wednesday afternoon at 4 p.m.

Last Updated: 5/25/2017 8:47:04 PM EST