We've moved! To view our most current content, click here.
All Cross Country Stories

Montabella Senior Taylor Smith, right, leads the race with Carson City Crystal junior Kaitlin Beyer close behind at Mt. Pleasant Wednesday, Oct. 16, 2013. "I think my team and I did really well today, I'm just really proud of my team," said Smith after finishing first. (Sun photo by KEN KADWELL/@KenKadwell).

Cross Country

PREP CROSS COUNTRY: Montabella girls win first-ever cross country title

SHA boys wrap up boys title

Montabella sophomore Kensington Garvey, right, leads a group during an invitational in Mt. Pleasant Wednesday, Oct. 16, 2013. "I did pretty good for a league meet," said Garvey after placing third. (Sun photo by KEN KADWELL/@KenKadwell)

Carson City-Crystal senior Tyler Craig crosses the finish line at the invitational in Mt. Pleasant Wednesday, Oct. 16, 2013. "I felt ok, I did what I was supposed to," said Craig after finishing first. (Sun photo by KEN KADWELL/@KenKadwell).

Game Info

Related Articles

>> View more news

It’s been a good long while coming, but the time has arrived.

On Wednesday afternoon the Montabella High School girls cross country team won the first girls cross country conference title in school history as it out-legged the four-team field at the Mt. Pleasant Comfort Inn.

As it was the Mustangs, who are ranked ninth in Division 4, finished with 28 points on the day to wrap up the first-ever crown.

Carson City was second with 41 with SHA third with 58 and Vestaburg fourth with 92 in the final Mid-State Activities Conference jamboree of 2013.

“It was a great team effort,” said Montabella coach Jeff Kauffman, who is in his 10th year. “We have a nice group of girls who have worked together all season. The girls put in a lot of miles over the summer and the leadership of Taylor Smith and Sarah Miller has been outstanding. They have a great work ethic and positive attitudes and I couldn’t be happier for them.”

All five Mustang scoring runners finished in the top 10 Wednesday, led by three-time All-Stater Taylor Smith who finished first overall Wednesday with a time of 19:21.7.

To Smith it was a bittersweet moment in that she has had plenty of individual success over the years yet has never had this kind of team success.

“It’s really exciting for us to win this,” said Smith. “I’m proud of this team because we have done something that has never been done before. We have gotten better every race this year. Before we had the numbers to do it but didn’t get it done. This is the year we have improved the most I guess. We want to get to state as a team now and run really well there.”

Kensington Garvey (20:29.0) was third for the Mustangs with Kim Buskirk (21:48.7) sixth, Alyvia Karcher (22:06.6) eighth and Brynn Lobert (22:17.7) 10th.

On the boys side Mt. Pleasant SHA defended its title as it won its second of the three MSAC meets to claim the crown.

The third-ranked Irish finished with 27 points while Carson City was runner-up on the season and the day with 43. Montabella was third with 53.

“Our kids gave a good effort and we’re happy we won it,” said SHA coach Chad Zitzelsberger. “It was good to wrap up the league season with everyone healthy now we can focus on the three biggest meets of the year (Class D state championships, regionals and the state finals).”

For the Irish all five of their runners also finished in the top 10 as Cooper Terry (17:31.1) was second, Jim English (17:31.5) was third, Logan Moyle (17:38.8) was fifth, Tony Perez (18:42.2) was seventh and Sam Neyer (19:46.7) was 10th. Carson City’s Tyler Craig won the race in 17:09.6.

Other top finishers on the girls side were: 2. Kaitlyn Beyer CCC (19:45.2), 4. Alexis McConnell SHA (20:49.7), 5. Elizabeth McCrackin CCC (21:36.3), 7. Taylor Ward CCC 22:05.3, 9. Johannah McCarty Vest (22:17.0), 11. Megan English SHA (22:37.9), 12. Lizzy Ervin SHA (22:41.2), 13. Makayla Baker CCC (22:48.3), 14. Karagan Kavanagh CCC (22:50.2), 15. Skylar Nelson SHA (22:54.2), 16. Linde Bolle SHA (23:02.7), 17. Andreya McCarty Vest (23:23.0), 19. Shiane Hallock Vest (24:59.0), 23. Essie McCarty Vest (26:55.7).

Other top finishers on the boys sider were: 4. Kolton Kavanagh CCC (17:36.6), 6. Kelton Eldred Mont (17:40.9) , 8. Christian Watson Mont (18:56.3), 9. Taylor Benavidez CCC (19:05.0), 11. Cody Flinn CCC (20:04.5), 12. Michael Hyde CCC (20:10.9), 13. Joel Bucao Mont (20:22.3), 14. Dakota Lobert Mont (20:23.8), 15. Tyler Gondek Vest (20:39.3), 16. Moritz Fehr Mont 20:48.6, 20. Tylor Coston CCC 21:46.8, 23. Kirklyn Edwards Vest 22:16.7.

Last Updated: 10/16/2013 6:58:48 PM EST